Dinner Tales

  
I made Coq Au Vin for dinner tonight for a dear friend. We laughed, caught up, shared stories, gave (and got) advice over our meal and some wine. The dish was delicious (recipe at the end of this post), but it was the company that made the night fantastic.

There are lots of people who call themselves Master Chefs and post photos all over social media bragging. But what seems to be forgotten all too often is that the real pleasure in cooking is the sharing with company. I like to say that the food was good, but the company was great. Spending quality time with someone special over cooking and eating is one of my favorite pastimes.

My friend and I told stories about the past, caught up on our lives, questioned each other about decisions we had made and listened. We were completely supportive and there for each other. Our dinner and time together was priceless. It was a night of women supporting women.

I just discovered a book called, The Woman Code, by Sophia Nelson. I’m not done reading it yet, but one of the first things it taught was that not all women support each other. It has made me reflect over women I’ve known throughout my life. I’ve known bossy know-it-alls and I’ve known classy and respectful women. Some women have disappointed me, some have used me and some have uplifted me and taught me valuable lessons. 

Here are some tips from The Woman Code:

  1. Steer clear of women who “don’t do” women friends
  2. Collaborate and share
  3. Be a mentor
  4. Reciprocate
  5. Be willing to have courageous conversations

Ladies, lift each other up, don’t tear each other down. When you find that woman you can trust to have your back, listen, confide in, laugh with and cry with, keep her around and cook some dinner for her, she’s a gem.

Coq Au Vin Recipe

Leave a Reply

